

Robert Holguin (President)

EMBARGO DATE:

Dr. Donald A. Reed (Founder)

PRESS CONTACT:

Jill Goldstein/Deana Dor JGPR Jill@jgoldsteinpr.com Deana@jgoldsteinpr.com

51st ANNUAL SATURN AWARDS TO HONOR DAVID FILONI WITH THE GEORGE PAL MEMORIAL AWARD

Los Angeles, CA – January 16, 2024 -- The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Films has revealed their plans to bestow **The George Pal Memorial Award** to the highly talented and influential figure in the world of animation and storytelling, **David Filoni**. The Award will be presented to Filoni at the upcoming **51st Annual Saturn Awards**, set to take place on **February 4**, **2024** at **4PM PST**, hosted by Joel McHale. David has brought his exceptional storytelling abilities while demonstrating his deep understanding of Star Wars lore to the epic canon of this unparalleled and beloved universe. His dedication to maintaining the integrity of the franchise while pushing creative boundaries has earned him immense respect from fans and industry professionals alike.

Filoni's work is characterized by his ability to blend action, emotion and mythology, creating compelling narratives that resonate with fans of all ages and his passion for the franchise shines through in every project he undertakes. XXXX will be presenting him with this honor at the Saturn Awards ceremony.

Academy President Robert Holguin and Saturn Awards producers Bradley and Kevin Marcus comment, "David's work has had a profound impact on the Star Wars franchise, breathing new life into beloved characters and expanding the universe in exciting and unexpected ways. He is a true visionary in the world of animation and storytelling, and we are truly honored to bestow this very special award to him."

Named after legendary filmmaker and animator **George Pal** ("War of the Worlds," "When Worlds Collide," "The Time Machine," and "Puppetoons"), the **George Pal Memorial Award** is one of our most highly coveted honors, presented on rare occasions to a filmmaker who embodies a sense of wonder, imagination, and mastery of the fantastic in cinematic storytelling. Previous recipients include **William Friedkin**, **Frank Marshall**, **Kathleen Kennedy**, **John Carpenter**, **Sam Raimi**, **Guillermo del Toro** and the legendary **Ray Harryhausen**.

David Filoni realized a lifelong dream in 2005 when he was selected by George Lucas to help build Lucasfilm's animation studio from the ground up and create the company's first series,

"Star Wars: The Clone Wars." Over a span of seven seasons, and more than 100 episodes, "The Clone Wars" won four Emmy Awards.

Filoni is creator, writer, and executive producer on the critically acclaimed series "Ahsoka," executive producer, episodic director, and writer on the Emmy Award-winning series "The Mandalorian," as well as its spin off series "The Book of Boba Fett." Filoni is the creator and executive producer of the animated series "Star Wars: The Bad Batch" and "Tales of the Jedi." He is also executive producing the upcoming Star Wars series, "Skeleton Crew." David was recently promoted to Chief Creative Officer of Lucasfilm.

This year's Saturn Awards celebrating the films and television programs within genre entertainment will be live streamed by the premium OTT linear channel and app from Electric Entertainment, **ElectricNOW**, the official streaming partner of the Saturn Awards.

Other prestigious awards presented at the upcoming ceremony will be announced shortly.

About The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror is a non-profit organization founded in 1972 by film historian **Doctor Donald A. Reed** and is supported by several hundred genre enthusiasts and professionals (such as JJ Abrams, Dean Devlin, Gale Anne Hurd, Guillermo Del Toro, Greg Berlanti, and Kevin Feige) who have participated in the ongoing efforts of the Academy to promote genre film production and television programming since 1972. The organization is currently headed by President Robert Holguin and Saturn leaders Bradley Marcus and Kevin Marcus.

About ElectricNOW

ElectricNOW is the premium OTT app and FAST channel featuring Electric Entertainment's own produced content such as fan-favorite TV series "**Leverage**," "**Leverage**: **Redemption**," "**The Librarians**," "**Almost Paradise**," and "**The Outpost**," as well as acquired programming such as the feature films "**Blackway**" starring Anthony Hopkins and "**The Book of Love**" starring Jason Sudeikis and Maisie

Williams. The **ElectricNOW Channel**, available on numerous platforms including **The Roku Channel**, **Samsung TV Plus**, **Amazon Freevee**, **Sling Freestream**, **Plex**, **STIRR**, **Local Now**, **TiVo Plus**, **Redbox**, **Vizio**, **XUMO**, **TCL Channel**, **Stremium**, **Distro TV**, **Vidgo**, **Hisense Vidaa**, **LG Channels**, **Glewed TV**, **MyBundle.com TV**, and **Select TV**, is a onestop shop for fans to enjoy all their favorite shows free, in a 24/7 streaming broadcast. In addition to the free streaming content, the **ElectricNOW App** also includes special bonus feature content, a program guide, video-on-demand and pay-per-view components. The channel and app offer original programming and podcasts, which include such hit series as **The Official Leverage: Redemption Aftershow: A Very Distinctive Podcast, Inglorious Treksperts**, **The 4:30 Movie**, **Best Movies Never Made**, **Cartoon Barroom**, **The Rebel and the Rogue**, and **Disco Nights** in a line-up that includes podcasts devoted to Star Wars, Dr. Who and other sci-fi and entertainment industry-related topics.